Leaving and Leaving You

When I leave your zip code for a new destination,
When I left undone all the things we planned to do
You may feel you have been left by association
But there is leaving and then there is leaving you.

When I leave your home and all that you belong to,
When I leave with eyes filled with tears and regret,
Remember, there’s doing wrong and there’s doing wrong to
You, which I’ll never do and I haven’t yet,

And when I have gone, remember that in weighing
Everything up, from love to dreams to rent,
You were all the reasons I thought of staying,
And none of the reasons why I went

And although I leave your sight and I leave your setting,
And our separation is but a matter of fact,
Though you represent all I’m leaving, don’t be forgetting,
I’m not leaving you,  not ever, and to you i make his pact.

Leave a Reply

